From Dec 4 to Dec 23 we are open every day from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.!

Zvuky kódy obrazy / Sounds Codes Images – Jitka Hlaváčková, Miloš Vojtěchovský (eds.)

Zvuky kódy obrazy titulka
650 Kč –9 %
Delivery to:
650 Kč –9 % 590 Kč 536,36 Kč excl. VAT
In stock (>5 pcs)
With contributions by Anna Kvíčalová, Jitka Hlaváčková, Martin Flašar, Michal Nejtek, Viktor Pantůček, Milan Guštar, Josef Czeres, Helena Musilová, Michal Kindernay, Miloš Vojtěchovský, Martin Klimeš a Jakub Frank, Dušan Barok

The collective monograph Sounds Codes Images explores the transitional zone between image and sound, particularly in the fields where visual arts and music meet and interconnect.

The first section introduces approaches to sound and experimentation in the field of fine arts from the perspective of so-called sound studies. It maps the overlaps of image of sound in Czech and Czechoslovak visual art and synaesthesia from the position of contemporary music theory. It deals with the echoes of the Fluxus movement, non-codified principles of musical notation, and graphic scores in the works of Czechoslovak musicians and artists. It studies the spatial materialization of music and presents an introduction to sound as a mathematical phenomenon. It also addresses the contemporary topic of acoustic ecology.

The second section of the book comprises an introduction to the works of several dozen Czech, Slovak, and foreign artists who, in their local contexts, experimented with sound, the sonification of images, or the visualization of sound: authors of graphic scores, abstract images, sounding or resonating objects, and instalations or works utilizing digital media.


Book review by sound artist Petr Válek

Category: Edition ArtMap
Author: Jitka Hlaváčková, Miloš Vojtěchovský
Editor: Miloš Vojtěchovský, Jitka Hlaváčková
Publisher: ArtMap
Language: Czech/English
Pages: 288
Type: V4
Format: 17 × 23 cm
Design: Petr Hrůza

Be the first who will post an article to this item!

Do not fill out this field: